How Does It Work?

/How Does It Work?
How Does It Work? 2017-06-26T14:00:52+00:00

This Summer, take on the ultimate challenge!

Welcome to the annual Mizuno Auckland Half Marathon Series, bringing together five spectacular running events into a season-long goal for runners and walkers alike.

From September 2017 to April 2018, finishers will accumulate series points at events in Devonport, Omaha, Coatesville and Orewa Beach. And it’s not just for the half marathoners, running alongside the Half Marathon Series is the Classic Series for those in our “classic” 8-10km distance races.

Trophies will be awarded at the series finale, the Auckland Waterfront Half Marathon in April 2017. Are you ready to take the challenge?

Here’s to You. And The Road.

The Rules

  • The Events – There are five qualifying events for the Mizuno Auckland Half Marathon Series: Mizuno Devonport Half Marathon, Mike Pero Omaha Half Marathon, Mizuno Coatesville Half Marathon, Platinum Homes Orewa Beach Half Marathon, and the Auckland Waterfront Half Marathon

  • The Points – Anyone who completes the Half Marathon or the Classic (8-10km) distance in any of the five Series events will accumulate points based on how they position among other finishers in their gender and age group.

  • The Awards – Based on the point system, there are trophies for the overall winning runners and competitive walkers in the Half Marathon and Classic Series as well as the age group winners in the Half Marathon Series.

  • The Medals – Every competitor who completes the Half Marathon distance in any of the five qualifying events will receive a Series finisher medal as well as the finisher award for the event. Those brave few who finish all five of the half marathons in a single season will earn a Grand Slam medal. [read more]

For more information, check out the Auckland Half Marathon Series FAQ page here.